Whole School Leadership Team

  • Acting Principal / SS Headteacher: Mr Yiannis Georgiou
  • Acting Deputy Principal / JS Headteacher: Mrs Naomi Theocharides
  • Head of Early Years: Mrs Cally Xenophontos

Junior School SLT (Senior Leadership Team):

Assistant Headteachers

  • Key Stage 1: Mrs Katerina Economidou
  • Lower Key Stage 2: Mrs Elena Savva
  • Upper Key Stage 2: Mrs Stella Hadjinicolaou

Senior School SLT (Senior Leadership Team):

  • Headteacher: Mr Yiannis Georgiou
  • Deputy Head Curriculum - Assessment, Teaching and Learning: Ms Eleni Kallitsi
  • Deputy Head - Pastoral Care: Ms Eithne O’Riordan
  • Assistant Head Teacher I - KS3 Pastoral Care: Ms Anne-Marie Theodorou
  • Assistant Head Teacher II - Digital Literacy / CPD / Examinations Officer: Mr George Kaccoufa

School Governance

The Junior and Senior School is unique in Cyprus in that it is a not-for-profit company owned by the parents. The affairs and property of the school are managed by the Directors of the Company, the Board of Governors, whilst the Principal and the Senior Leadership Team have the responsibility for its day to day running.

The Company’s sole purpose is to ensure, via its Board of Governors, AGMs and EGMs, the ongoing success of the School, within the ethos of our statement of purpose and objectives, in the best interest of the children.

The Board consists of eleven members, ten of which are elected by all Company members during the Annual General Meeting at the end of the summer term. Governors are elected for a period of three years, at the end of which they are eligible for re-election for another three-year period. The eleventh member is an individual who is not a member of the Company (nor a parent/legal guardian of a student in the school) and is appointed by the Board for one year, with the possibility of renewal for a total of three years.

Meetings are held on a regular basis, but further meetings are held in its three permanent committees, according to the Memorandum and Articles of Association, the Junior School Committee and the Senior School Committee, as well as the Finance Committee and other ad hoc committees. All committees deliberate and present their suggestions to the whole Board, which examines and decides whether to approve or not the recommendations made.

Effective governance is a key aspect for the success of every school and this group of volunteers brings to the school their wide range of backgrounds and professional expertise, playing a vital role in contributing towards setting the vision and the strategic direction given, the goals aimed at, and the ethos aspired to. Furthermore, the Board is working closely with the school’s management to safeguard that each pupil has access to the best possible education, within a safe, stimulating and highly positive environment.

For any queries or suggestions, please contact the Board by email: board@tjss.ac.cy

Governors' Roles and Responsibilities

Please find below the composition of the Board and the roles and responsibilities each member will be fulfilling this year 2022 - 2023.

The articles of the constitution call for three standing committees: the Finance Committee (FC), the Junior School Committee (JSC) and the Senior School Committee (SSC). 

Ad hoc committees will be created throughout the year as deemed necessary for the governance of the School.