Academic Structure

Our school aims to provide excellent, innovative and creative education that enables all students to realise their full potential and become confident and compassionate members of the global community. Our curriculum is designed to provide every student with a range of rich learning experiences in a challenging yet supportive learning environment.

The academic structure of our school is divided into Key Stages. The Senior School comprises of three Key Stages:

  • Key Stage 3 - Years 7 to 9
  • Key Stage 4 - Years 10 and 11
  • Key Stage 5 - Years 12 and 13

At Key Stage 3 we offer a range of subjects as part of a broad and balanced curriculum. This is an opportunity for students to find, and follow, their interests with a rigorous base for future study.

Students are taught in form groups for most subjects. For Greek, students are placed in Main, Intermediate or GFL (Greek as a Foreign Language) level classes. All students also study French, Spanish or German as an additional foreign language. Provisions are also made for students who join our school with English as an additional language.

Going into Key Stage 4 (Year 10), students select between eight and ten I/GCSE subjects, four of which are compulsory: English (all students take English Language, there is also the option to choose English Literature), Mathematics (including an accelerated GCSE group that sits the examination a year early), at least one Science subject and a Modern Foreign Language.

The other 4 subjects are options with a wide range of subjects to choose from. Students who need further stretching academically can study up to 10 subjects in total.

This two-year programme culminates in external public examinations for each subject that are prepared, published and assessed by the examination boards in the UK.

Key Stage 5 is known as the Sixth Form in the Senior School. At this point in their schooling students narrow their study to three or four subjects which are studied to A level and selected from a wide range of courses. There are, however, common core subjects that are compulsory for all students in KS5.

Again, public examinations are prepared, published and assessed by the examination boards in the UK.

Students also study for their Apolytirion, a rigorously assessed qualification awarded at the end of Year 13, their final year in the school.